SASKATOON, SK - The finalists for this year’s ABEX awards have been announced. This is the 35th year for the annual Achievement in Business Excellence Awards. The Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce will be hosting the event at TCU Place in Saskatoon. It will be held on October 20th.

In the Community Involvement Award category, sponsored by Cogent Chartered Professional Accountants LLP, the finalists are: Lloydminster and District Co-operative Ltd., Crescent Point Energy, Wiegers Financial & Benefits, Affinity Credit Union, Fitness 2J2, and Avana Homes.

In the Export Award category, sponsored by Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership, the finalists are: Dutch Industries Ltd., CWI Manufacturing Ltd., Watercycles Energy Recovery, Dingwall Guitars, Industrial Machine & Mfg. Inc., and Temple Audio Design Inc.

In the Growth and Expansion Award category, sponsored by PFM Capital Inc., the finalists are: Canadian Organic Spice & Herb Co. Inc., Gravelbourg Mustard, Vortex Plumbing and Heating, Zoom Zoom Groom, Crestline Coach, and A2Z Safety & Training Ltd.

In the Innovation Award category, sponsored by Saskatchewan Polytechnic, the finalists are: InfraReady Products (1998) Ltd., WorkHorse Hub, Quantum Mechanical Technology Inc., Viking Innovations Ltd., and Linnaeus Plant Sciences Inc.

In the Marketing Award category, sponsored by Handy Special Events, the finalists are: Gold Eagle Casino, Vendasta, Luxury Granite, and J. Mendoza & Associates Canada Immigration Consultants.

In the New Venture Award category, sponsored by the Saskatchewan Ministry of Trade and Export Development, the finalists are: Vortex Plumbing & Heating, With Purpose Consulting, Komfort Insulation, Ironside Energy Services, Sandy Shores Resort, and Road Coffee Co.

In the Service Award category, sponsored by Prairieland Park, the finalists are: CRAVINGS maternity-baby-kids, Historic Reesor Ranch, North 49 Physical Therapy, Two Fifty Two Boutique, Complete Technologies Outsourced IT Ltd., Wallnuts Expressive Catering Inc., and Thr3e Clothing Connection.

In the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award category, sponsored by Cameco, the finalists are: Chelsey Harder – Passions Beauty Studio, Bailey Wilmot – The Local Kitchen, Douglas Bear Trapp – VP Energy Services Ltd., Haylie Lashta – Warman Physiotherapy & Wellness, Jennifer Denouden – Avana Homes, and Meagan Barabash – Bravo Dance Co.

The Priority Focus Award, sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority, is presented to a business which has gone above and beyond in demonstrating business excellence in an area that is in line with a select Saskatchewan Chamber policy priority. This year the focus is on Mental Health. The finalists are: Prairie Sky Recovery Centre Inc., Central Plains Co-operative Ltd., The Co-operators, Orano Canada Inc., Flynn Group of Companies, and the Regina Pats Hockey Club.

Five additional awards will be awarded on the night of the ABEX Award: the prestigious Business Leader of the Year Award; the Community Leader of the Year Award sponsored by SaskEnergy; the Saskatchewan Hall of Fame; the Roger Phillips Chamber Builder; and finally the ABEX Business of the Year sponsored by David Aplin Group.